Eigen beeldmerk Mathematical Institute  Toren 


Personal Data

Born: August 14, 1939, Kampen, Netherlands
Citizenship: The Netherlands
Marital Status: Married, 3 children,
Ineke, Bart-Jan, Diederick
Address (work): Mathematical Institute, Leiden University
Niels Bohrweg 1, 2333 CA leiden, Netherlands
tel. +31-715277138, fax. +31-715277101
e-mail: dijk@math.leidenuniv.nl
Address (private): Sportveldweg 64, 2151 CD Nieuw-Vennep, Netherlands
tel. +31 252672481
Education: Ph.D mathematics, University of Utrecht, 1969
Thesis advisor: T.A. Springer
Research interests: Harmonic Analysis, Representation Theory.

Professional experience:

University of Utrecht staff member 1964-1969
Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA member 1969-1970
University of Utrecht staff member 1970-1972
Leiden Unversity Associate Professor
Professor of Mathematics

Professional positions / functions :

Dean Faculty of Science Leiden University 1988-1992
Co-organisor annual Twente Lie Group Conference 1990-2006
Treasurer European Association of Deans of Science 1993-now
Member board Stieltjes Institute for Mathematics 1994-2007
Editor Collected Papers Thomas J. Stieltjes 1991
Director Mathematical Institute Leiden University 1997-2004
Director Lorentz Center 1995-1997
Member Division Exact Sciences Netherlands
Organisation for Scientific Research N.W.O.
Member Leiden University Fund Commitee for
Scientific Grants
Director LIACS (Leiden Institute of
Advanced Computer Science)
Royal Holland Society of Sciences
and Humanities, secretary natural sciences

Guest professorships

Professional affilation:

Wiskundig Genootschap member
American Mathematical Society member
Bataafsch Genootschap elected member
Hollandsche Maatschappij der Wetenschappen elected member


I was coordinator of an extensive cooperation programme of N.W.O. with Russia. Involved are universities of Moscow, St. Petersburg and Tambov.
Project leaders: Vershik, Litvinov, Zhelobenko, Molchanov and Van Dijk.
Start 2000, duration 3 years.

PHD-students (with year of PHD):

  1. G.J. Heckman (1980)
  2. M.T. Kosters (1983)
  3. B. Hoogenboom (1983)
  4. W.A. Kosters (1985)
  5. M. Poel (1986)
  6. R.J. Beerends (1987)
  7. E.M. Opdam (1988)
  8. H.T. Koelink (1991)
  9. E.P.H. Bosman (1992)
  10. M.F.E. De Jeu (1994)
  11. P.G.M. Floris (1995)
  12. S.C. Hille (1999)
  13. I. Charchov (2000)
  14. S. Aparicio (2005)